I’m Baaaaaack…

So. Hi again. Spring semester was really busy. Four classes, including two labs, and one with community service. Which is basically lab. Plus my senior project, which included data analysis, a 20 page paper, a poster, and a presentation. One of the lab classes was field trips, so that took away four weekends. Papers, projects, and tests, oh my!

But I survived! And I graduated! And I finally have time to breathe again! And cook! Mmm, food.

Tonight’s dinner was a trial of another Budget Bytes recipe. Spinach Artichoke Grilled Cheese.

I used marinated artichoke partly because it would be a bit more flavor, and partly because they had small jars of that and only big ones of the plain. No spinach, because I didn’t want to use spinach. Half recipe because it’s just me.

Now, when she says it makes two large sandwiches, she means it.

20170601_173126

Um.

20170601_173139

Yeah. Next time, get the big sourdough slices, it’s a mile tall.

Into a pan to get all melty and crispy on the outside, low because I didn’t want the outside to burn before the inside melted…

20170601_174000

Whoops. I always burn my grilled cheese. I have gotten better. Sometimes. But yeah. It almost always burns. Oh well, that’s what bread knives are for.

20170601_174229

Had to eat it with a fork, but it was good. Not melted or hot in the middle, but still good.

Modifications for next time:

  1. Use bigger bread- filling can be thinner, and melt all the way through
  2. Use the electric griddle for more space, and it can be turned down really low
  3. Maybe plain artichoke hearts instead of marinated. There was a lot of flavor in there.
  4. Red pepper flakes. Because spicy.

Leave a comment